New Approach

The last time I wrote a blog post, it was just over a week into unemployment. Since then, while I’ve had every intention of keeping to the blog (honestly, it’s been an unchecked item on several to-do lists), my regular updates never came.

Given the amount of spare time I have, you might ask, how did you let this happen?

Pretty simple. I’m still looking for work over a month later, and you know what? It’s pretty dull. Somewhat depressing, but mostly just really, really dull. I send in applications most every day (okay, weekday), and I’ve barely had any feedback. I’m definitely nearing over a hundred applications sent out with just one – count it, one – interview. It’s a proverbial kick to the crotch for my self-esteem.

Now, imagine a blog dedicated to whining about unemployment. You’re bored and uncomfortable just thinking about it, aren’t you? Newsflash to self – it’s a tough economy, I picked a ridiculous profession and many people are much worse off than myself.

So why am I writing now? After talking to many people who are or were in a similar predicament to me, the general consensus is that it’s difficult not tying your self-worth to your ability to find a job. You start out thinking you’re smart enough and have a carefully crafted resume; who won’t be banging down your door? Then, as time passes and that’s not the case, you start to lose it ever so slightly. All this time you should be taking advantage of you somehow end up wasting. Not to mention, you aren’t super pleasant to be around.

My long-winded point is this – I was determined to be better at the beginning of 2011, and this situation threw me a curve ball. One that I really should have seen coming a mile away, granted. So now, I’m going to accept that it may take a long while yet, but be better anyway! The one remaining problem – after a long day of job searching, an unpleasant task to say the least, there is nothing I’d rather do than nothing at all. But, for new and improved Colleen, this is unacceptable.

The obvious thing would be to take up a hobby. But I have no patience to learn a new skill, so what then? Well, I like watching movies and having opinions about things I don’t know much about. Can I write about that?

Indeed I can and will. It’s with this reasoning that I’ve decided to go about the nonsensical task of making my way through the American Film Institute’s Top 100 films (the 10th anniversary edition) and track my journey from #100 to #1.

For those of you who are unfamiliar, the AFI top 100 is a list they make by polling more than 1,500 artists and leaders in the film who chose from a list of 400 nominated    movies (more information on the Wikipedia page). When organizing this list on a handsome Excel spreadsheet, I was astonished that I hadn’t seen 65 of the 100. Some I can’t believe I haven’t seen (Schindler’s List, Rocky) and many I hadn’t even heard of (Swing Time, The Deer Hunter, The Wild Bunch, Yankee Doodle Dandy…should I be embarrassed that I don’t know these films?).

It begs the question, why? Why, Colleen, would you devote so much of your time to such a silly thing? Why aren’t you doing something more productive or interesting? And seriously, why should we care what you think about movies when you’re too much of a snob to like Avatar or Inception?

All good points, hypothetical conversation. The truth is, thanks to Netflix, it’s not an expensive endeavor and my funds are short. I’ll be practicing my writing and it will be fun to do. I will approach each movie, even those I’ve seen before or are not really my taste, with as open a mind as possible. Maybe this whole idea will crash and burn, maybe it will be awful, but hey, you never know until you try!

On that note, any criticism or notes you, my five or so readers, would like to offer is all very welcome. To start, it’s Ben Hur at #100. Only three hours and twenty minutes long…what fun?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “New Approach

  1. Calla

    Love you! Looking forward to reading all about Ben Hur 😀

Leave a Reply

